blogging · singapore bloggers · Uncategorized · yoga pants and messy hair

Weekend Immersion With Jani Jaatinen by Outta Hatha Yoga – Handstand & Forearm Balance 25 March 2017

This is his second immersion and I am more than honoured and humbled to attend again =)

There are plenty of workshops to begin with and I can only make time and invest just for a few of them. And this is one of them I couldn’t afford to miss since the last one he was here. So I was just at the Handstand & Forearm Balance yesterday since I have always been practicing and trying to perfect on my pinchamayurasana. I must say that his approach is very grounded, inspirational and  filled with the abundance of knowledge that at times I can barely make out whatever that was spoken. I take that as a bonus since my purpose for any workshops is to gain far more and beyond of what I have acquired.

During this workshop, we did nothing of kicking our legs up to get into the posture but we were presented with the fundamentals of rooting down our forearms. As much as I am concerned a solid foundation builds up a higher probability of being elevated and habitual good muscle retention rather than executing an asana with no intention or awareness.

Didn’t manage to take photos but I would say I personally experienced out of the usual engagement from the root of my palms, outer elbows, shoulders and towards the lower back.

With handstand being shared next I am more than delighted with the sharing of some tips especially when it comes to the placement of our hands. I had some discrepancies and concerns with how the position of the palms and fingers should be placed and here is goes:

Root of the palms – Thumb and Index fingers

This has been taught to me from the beginning from downward dog (adho mukha svanasana )to ensure the space between the thumb and index fingers have to be rooted.

And yup this should be the case anyhow:

However, I have also seen some of my students and practitioners with fingers grasping / gripping:

  1. with root of the index finger and thumb and finger pads sinking down  OR
  2. with only the wrist and the finger pads sinking down

Not to mention I did try all 3 methods and the last was the worst I ever felt with discomforts as if my wrist was going to be disconnected and break away from me. Though the second option was slightly better I couldn’t feel the stability, or possibly my core isn’t strong enough. Of course the first approach is highly recommended all time and even applied to whenever I teach my students what grounding means. This will also prevent any unnecessary wrist pressure so long as we are in any inversions typically in downward dog.

As from the controversial methodologies applied, we also discussed on placement of the feet – flexed or pointed toes in which I can only continue in my next post.

Looking forward to the next session tomorrow morning – Gokul Vinyasa Masterclass

xoxo

Leave a Reply

